Congratulations to our winners

We’re proud to announce the winners for this year’s Reisman Awards, an annual recognition of law firms demonstrating excellence in one of the following categories: innovation, community work, growth, and best new law firm.

At Clio, our customers are the driving force behind everything we do. We’re thrilled to honor this year’s winners for their exemplary accomplishments.

Legal Innovation: Modern Law

Modern Law, a family law firm based in Mesa, AZ, has been using data analytics for the past eight years to innovate new ways of delivering services to clients. Now, they’ve turned their analytical eye to their internal culture, and business is booming as a result. We’re pleased to honor their devotion to data with this year’s Legal Innovation award.

Best New Law Firm: Morgan & Cumbas

When Michael Anthony Morgan and José Javier Cumbas first met, José, a native of Puerto Rico, was simply looking for an opportunity to provide a better life for his family. In March 2016, with a $2,000 investment, they left their jobs and began working from a small two-bedroom apartment. Two years later, they’ve grown their client base by over 2,000 percent, and are recognized as one of San Antonio’s preeminent immigration firms.

Community Champion: Dunkiel Saunders Elliott Raubvogel & Hand

Whether helping champion sustainable energy, social housing, or community projects, Dunkiel Saunders Elliott Raubvogel & Hand—based in Burlington, Vermont—has built a thriving law firm while remaining true to their values, which are to make a difference with their practice.

Best Growth Story: T.Burd Law Group

When starting her own solo practice, San Diego attorney Tara Burd knew success wouldn’t happen overnight. But she kept at it—accepting challenging cases with uncertain outcomes and networking night and day, knowing it would one day pay off. In 2017, five years after starting her firm, she cracked $1 million in annual profit for the first time—and Clio has been there every step of the way.

Why Reisman?

Named after Clio’s very first customer, the Reisman Awards are an annual celebration that recognizes the amazing work being done by our customers.

Why Reisman? As our first customer, Catherine Reisman was our inspiration for delivering an exceptional software platform to meet the needs of all legal professionals. As all of our customers continue to inspire everything we do at Clio, we want to highlight some of their amazing achievements that we see every day.

Award Categories

Legal Innovation

Do you dare to do things a little differently? Tell us about how you use technology, how you serve clients, or how you address niche markets in unique ways.

Best New Law Firm

Whether you’re a fresh-faced law grad or a bold BigLaw defector, if you started a new law firm over the past year, we want to hear about your success in striking out.

Community Champion

Volunteering, pro bono work, mentorship, or donations—giving back can take many forms. Tell us how you make your community great.

Best Growth Story

We’re no stranger to growth, but our favorite stories are yours—and this is your chance to boast. Tell us how you’ve been successful with Clio.

Want to know when we’ll be accepting applications for the 2019 Reisman Awards? Leave us your email, and we’ll let you know!

Reismans winner

Winner perks

All finalists (three per category) will receive:

  • One complimentary registration to the 2018 Clio Cloud Conference, the most exciting legal conference in the industry, held October 4-5 in New Orleans
  • The chance to be showcased in one of our customer profile videos
  • Exclusive design assets that can be used for law firm marketing and branding

Winners will also receive:

  • A Reisman trophy
  • Recognition on stage at the Clio Cloud Conference

See last year’s winners

Submissions for the 2018 Reisman Awards have now closed.

What makes a winning entry?

Submissions will be evaluated based on how compelling their story is, how well the results are documented, how well the story ties into their category, and Clio’s role in your success. Tell us the impact of your actions, and how Clio helped you get there.

I submitted last year. Can I submit again?

Absolutely! The great thing about stories is that they get better over time. We want to keep in touch and to learn about what’s new and exciting at your firm. So, please, keep those submissions coming.

Additional questions

Is there a fee to submit to the Reisman Awards?
No! Submitting to the Reisman Awards is completely free. Simply complete the submission form below.

Does my submission have to contain information from the past year only?
No! Feel free to use examples from beyond last year to illustrate your story. We want the full picture. If that means going back to what first inspired you to become a lawyer, by all means, dig deep. We can’t wait to hear your story.

How are the winners chosen?
Each submission will be evaluated by our panel of judges on how well it meets submission criteria.

Why does Clio offer a customer recognition program?
From the very beginning, we have taken inspiration from our customers and the incredible things they do. From creating Clio to starting the Clio Cloud Conference, our goal has always been to help you succeed—your success is our success. We started this program to hear and recognize the stories from the front lines.

I have more questions—who do I contact?
Email with any questions you have, or tweet us at @goclio.

Have any questions?

Send us a message and we will get back to you as soon as possible.